Skip to main content
2/3/2016
1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
CIRTL
Faculty Knowledge Essentials, Pedagogy: How people learn, Research program and long-term strategy

Using Calibrated Peer-Reviewed Writing in the STEM Classroom

The first of four events in University of Houston's CIRTLCast series on learning in the active STEM classroom 

Writing is one of the cornerstones of the sciences, but is rarely emphasized in the STEM classroom. Join us to learn how you can effectively incorporate writing into your STEM classroom!

Presenter:
Chad Wayne, Associate Instructional Professor, Department of Biology & Biochemistry, University of Houston

Writing is one of the cornerstones of the sciences, but is rarely emphasized in the STEM classroom due to its burdensome nature for the instructor. Students who are not given the opportunity to learn how to write will struggle with success in their academic and professional careers over the long term. A calibrated peer-review system coupled with a well-designed writing assignment, not only alleviates the burden on the instructor, but also teaches the student to think critically, to analyze data, to organize, and to appropriately analyze and critique the works of their peers while preparing them to enter into the scientific and health associated professions where they will need to use these skills. The University of Houston's Chad Wayne will discuss how to design, create, and implement a calibrated peer-review writing assignment for use in the STEM classroom.


When are sessions, and how do you join them? Sessions are 1:00-2:00PM ET/12:00-1:00PM CT/11:00AM-12:00PM MT/10:00-11:00AM PT on Wednesdays from September through April; there will be no session in December. On the day of a session, we'll update our event page with a link to the session's Blackboard room. Simply find the session in the event calendar and click "Join this session." If you're new to Blackboard, make sure you review our Blackboard instruction page to familiarize yourself with the software ahead of time. Please note that our events are discussion-based, so participants are strongly encouraged - but not required - to have microphones.