Skip to main content
2/9/2016
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Online
CIRTL
Faculty Knowledge Essentials, Pedagogy: How people learn, Online / Webinar

How People Learn


ArticleLinsenmeier, R.A., Kanter, D.E., Smith, H.D., Linsenmeier, K.A, & McKenna A.F. (2008). Evaluation of a Challenge-based Human Metabolism Laboratory for Undergraduates. Journal of Engineering Education, 97(2): 213-222.

Discussant: Adam Blanford, TIGER Coordinator, Graduate Teacher Program, University of Colorado Boulder.

Discussion: This article describes an experiment in which students participated in a Human Metabolism Laboratory module in one of two ways: 1) a control group where students participated in a “cookbook”-style lab, following the instructor’s lead through a predetermined set of steps; or, 2) a treatment group in which students participated via the “How People Learn” framework, which encourages active participation through discussion and application of knowledge. We will discuss the results of the study, as well as the pedagogy underlying the “How People Learn” framework and the benefits of learner-centered approaches vs. more traditional styles of teaching laboratory modules.


When are sessions, and how do you join them? Sessions are 3-4PM ET/2-3PM CT/1-2PM MT/12-1PM PT on the second Wednesday of every month from September through December, and 2-3PM ET/1-2PM CT/12-1PM MT/11AM-12PM PT on the second Tuesday of every month from February through April. Ahead of each session, you'll need to go to Moodle to read the month's article; to access the 2015-2016 CIRTL Reads Moodle page, please submit a request formOn the day of a session, we'll update our event page with a link to the session's Blackboard Collaborate room. Simply find the session in the event calendar and click "Join this session." If you're new to Blackboard Collaborate, make sure you review our Blackboard instruction page to familiarize yourself with the software ahead of time. Please note that our events are discussion-based, so participants are strongly encouraged - but not required - to have microphones.