Skip to main content
2/11/2016
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
CIRTL
Faculty Knowledge Essentials, Pedagogy: How people learn, Online / Webinar

Recognizing and Handling Acceptable and Unacceptable Student Behavior


Speakers: Nivea Magalhaes, College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences, University of Maryland, College Park; Sebastian Bartis, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, University of Maryland, College Park; Valentina Mazzotti, Arts History and Archaeology, University of Maryland, College Park

Discussion: International TAs varying cultural experiences and expectations may lead them to make incorrect judgments about students’ behavior. This session will place emphasis on helping international TAs to recognize and handle acceptable and unacceptable student behaviors.


Teaching in the US is an event series from the University of Maryland, College Park and CIRTL, designed to bring international STEM students and postdocs together to learn about higher education in the United States. The series will cover practical topics, like grading and how to communicate with students, in addition to longer discussions around the unique insights that international TAs bring to STEM classrooms. The series grew out of our Teaching in the US online community, which has additional resources, message boards, and news for international TAs.

When are sessions, and how do you join them? Sessions are 12PM ET/11AM CT/10AM MT/9AM PT on the second Thursday of every month from September through April. On the day of a session, we'll update our event page with a link to the session's Blackboard room. Simply find the session in the event calendar and click "Join this session." If you're new to Blackboard, make sure you review our Blackboard instruction page to familiarize yourself with the software ahead of time. Please note that our events are discussion-based, so participants are strongly encouraged - but not required - to have microphones.