Skip to main content
10/4/2017
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Yale University, Georgia Institute of Technology, and CIRTL
Faculty Knowledge Essentials, Pedagogy: How people learn

Diversity in the College Classroom

The purpose of this course is to explore what is known and theorized about the ways that diversity affects learning and, in turn, help educators develop practical classroom strategies that address diversity. We will examine various definitions of diversity, consider research on bias, and build a community of inquiry around ways diversity affects both our teaching and student learning.

 When you leave this course, you will have constructed:

1.     A personally meaningful definition of “diversity” and related terms

2.     Knowledge of some of the fundamental literature on diversity that pertains to STEM and SBE (social/behavioral/economics) fields

3.      A rationale for why you include the content you do in your teaching, and an understanding of how the selection of this content is influenced by your definition of diversity

4.     A toolbox of tips and ideas on how you might address diversity in future courses you will teach (demonstrated in the Inclusive Teaching Plan assignment and the Diversity Statement Workshop activity)

5.     A community of peers who are a resource for your teaching career 6. experience with learning in an online environment with students from diverse institutions

Course Schedule

This course has weekly online sessions at 12:00PM - 1:30PM ET / 11:00AM - 12:30PM CT / 10:00AM - 11:30AM MT / 9:00AM - 10:30AM PT on Wednesdays, starting October 4 and ending December 6. Class will not meet on Wednesday, November 22.

Workload Instructors anticipate students will need to spend 2.5-3 hours per week on work outside of class sessions.

Registration & Enrollment

This course is open for registration from Monday, August 28 through Monday, September 25; register by September 18 for early bird priority. The course is limited to 20 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.