Skip to main content
10/5/2017
11:30PM - 1:30PM ET
University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Texas at Arlington, Yale University and CIRTL
Faculty Knowledge Essentials, Pedagogy: How people learn

Gender Bias Intervention in STEM for Women and Men

Students in this course will gain knowledge of the ways that gender bias impacts STEM training and careers. Videos that portray empirically documented gender bias through narrative and expert interviews have been shown to increase awareness of gender bias and inequity (Pietri, 2017). By viewing these videos as part of a learning community and learning strategies to confront bias on behalf of themselves and others, both male and female students will gain strategies and increase their ability to confront gender bias in everyday situations experienced by STEM students, teachers, and professionals. Literacy and advocacy that empower students to engage in long-term positive change is important for the progress of gender equity in STEM. 

Participants will increase awareness of gender bias through analysis of identity, roles, and contexts where gender bias manifests in STEM university situations. Attention to classroom relationships will expand intervention strategies to student mentorship and advising. As a result of participating in this course, participants will create a peer reviewed professional biography, learn and practice documented strategies to combat gender bias in STEM, collaboratively develop strategies for STEM classrooms, and gain exposure to STEM professionals who address gender bias in their careers.

Course Schedule

This course has weekly online sessions at 11:30AM - 1:30PM ET / 10:30AM - 12:30PM CT / 9:30AM - 11:30AM MT / 8:30AM - 10:30AM PT on Thursdays, starting October 5 and ending December 14. Class will not meet on Thursday, November 23 (Thanksgiving).

Workload

Instructors anticipate students will need to spend 1-2 hours per week on work outside of class sessions.

Registration & Enrollment

This course is open for registration from Monday, August 28 through Monday, September 25; register by September 18 for early bird priority. The course is limited to 35 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.