Skip to main content
10/20/2017
2:00PM - 3:30PM ET
Online in Blackboard Collaborate
CIRTL Network
Faculty Knowledge Essentials

Finding and Evaluating Educational Literature Part of the series Teaching-as-Research Programming 2017-2018

The goal for this workshop is to help students identify where and how to look for educational literature, and critically evaluate the information they find. Strategies for searching academic databases, as well as free online resources will be explored, and participants will learn how to examine and analyze their sources for appropriateness to their research projects.

Workshop Schedule

This workshop has two online sessions, and participants are required to attend both. Sessions are Friday, October 20 and 27 at 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT. Workload Participants will review readings and multimedia resources before the first session, and will have to draft a research question and search strategy before the first session. Participants will find and read two new sources related to their research project and share their sources on the workshop's Moodle page before the second session.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop is open for registration from Monday, September 25 through Monday, October 9. The workshop is limited to 20 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.