Skip to main content
11/1/2017
2:00PM - 4:00PM EST
CIRTL, Boston University University of Georgia University of California, San Diego Texas A&M University
Faculty Knowledge Essentials, Academic Work Skills and Responsibilities, Identifying career goal and options, Leadership in the discipline

Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan

In this workshop, you will create a robust IDP draft and an action plan to facilitate conversations with your advisor or supervisor about career goals, current and desired skills, and professional development opportunities. We will discuss how to define achievable goals, identify resources, and develop strategies for implementing and sustaining your plans. You’ll start by considering your current skills and career aspirations. Then, along with your peers, you will consider key features of effective plans. You will begin to create a personalized plan that considers career interests and addresses the resources needed for the development of knowledge and skills. In addition, you will begin writing goals that are achievable and meaningful. IDPs are most effective when shared. Workshop participants will develop a plan for talking with their mentor.

Workshop Schedule

This workshop has one online session, which participants are required to attend. The session will take place Wednesday, November 1 at 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT. Workload Participants will be asked to complete a self-assessment and participate in online discussion boards. Registration & Enrollment This workshop is open for registration from Monday, October 2 through 12PM Central Time on Friday, October 27. The workshop is limited to 75 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority. 

Learning Outcomes

Associate: Teaching-as-Research

  • Define and recognize the value of the Teaching-as-Research process, and how it can be used for ongoing enhancement of learning.