Skip to main content
11/2/2017
2:30PM - 4:00PM EST
CIRTL, Indiana University
Academic Work Skills and Responsibilities, Professional Attitudes and Ethics, Leadership in the discipline, Outreach and engagement

Integrating Civic Learning into the STEM Classroom

Description

Civic learning and engagement is a form of integrative learning that intentionally prepares students for informed and engaged participation in the community. Intentional design of civic learning experiences provides opportunities for students to develop civic knowledge, skills, and dispositions through learning, inquiry and practice. Contrary to traditional views, the new civics is not limited to fields like political science and communication; rather civic learning and engagement are critical to 21st century scientific literacy and public problem solving. This two-session workshop will introduce national work on civic learning and engagement, with a particular emphasis on applications for the STEM classroom.

During our time together, participants will identify and discuss relevant conceptual frameworks, draft a civic learning goal and sketch out the design of an assignment that integrates a civic learning and STEM learning goal.

Workshop Schedule

This workshop has two online sessions, and participants are required to attend both.

Sessions are Thursday November 2 and 9 at 2:30-4PM ET / 1:30-3PM CT / 12:30-2PM MT / 11:30AM-1PM PT. Workload Participants will be expected to complete pre-session readings, interact in online discussion forums in between sessions, and respond to a reflection prompt.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop is open for registration from Monday, October 2 through 12PM Central Time on Friday, October 27. The workshop is limited to 25 participants; STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority. CIRTL staff refer to the institution and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.

Learning Outcomes

Associate: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Describe and recognize the value of realistic well-defined, achievable, measurable and student-centered learning goals.
  • Describe several known high-impact, evidence-based effective instructional practices and materials and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals 

Associate: Learning Community

  • Describe and recognize the value of learning communities, and how they impact student learning. 

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.
  • Describe how an instructor’s beliefs and biases can influence student learning.