Skip to main content
2:00PM - 3:00PM (EST)
Expectations of Academic Institutions, Faculty Knowledge Essentials, Teaching and mentoring students, Pedagogy: How people learn, Research program and long-term strategy, Online / Webinar

What to Expect from My Teaching-as-Research Project? Reflections on the TAR Experience from a Panel of CIRTL TAR Alumni

Are you thinking about taking on a Teaching-as-Research (TAR) project? Join us to hear from a panel of CIRTL alumni who will share their experience doing a TAR project - not the research they conducted, but what they learned from the process, and how they use what they learned in their current roles as postdocs and faculty. Alumni from University of Alabama at Birmingham, University of Massachusetts Amherst, and University of Wisconsin-Madison will reflect on the ups and downs of the TAR process, discuss how the experience impacted their instructional approach, and answer questions from the audience. 

Once you register to attend this event we encourage you to review the Event Links (to the right) to learn more about Teaching-as-Research, and to submit questions for presenters ahead of the event. This event is intended to be interactive, with most of the time devoted to panelists answering questions, so please submit your questions and/or come to the event with your questions! 

Note: This is a 90 minute event (5-6:30 ET/4-5:30 CT/3-4:30 MT/2-3:30PT). 

What is Teaching-as-Research? Teaching-as-Research is a deliberate, systematic, and reflective approach used by STEM instructors to develop and implement teaching practices that advance the learning experiences and outcomes of students and teachers. It involves a full inquiry cycle; from posing a question about learning or the student experience, to developing student learning outcomes and activities and assessments aligned with those outcomes, to implementing the project and collecting data, and then analyzing and reflecting on the results.

Learning Outcomes

Associate: Teaching-as-Research

  • Define and recognize the value of the Teaching-as-Research process, and how it can be used for ongoing enhancement of learning.

  • Describe a "full-inquiry" cycle.