Skip to main content
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Teaching and mentoring students, Pedagogy: How people learn, Inclusiveness and diversity

Engaging Students in the Teaching of Statistics


Learn about engaging, evidence-based pedagogical practices for statistics in this short course designed for current and future instructors (both those teaching in statistics departments and in departments that make considerable use of statistics such as psychology, ecology, etc.). Participants will learn about backwards design, develop an understanding of diversity that maximizes everyone's learning, and explore approaches to engage students actively in their own learning. Students who complete this course will: 1. comprehend the role that backwards design plays in successful teaching 2. be able to use Bloom’s taxonomy in developing learning objectives and teaching plans 3. be able to construct assessment tools 4. comprehend the importance of student diversity 5. be able to employ inclusive teaching practices with a focus on active learning Course Schedule This 4-week short course has weekly online sessions at 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT on Wednesdays, starting March 14 and ending April 11. There will be no session on March 28. Registration & Enrollment This short course is limited to 20 participants. Early registration for CIRTL members only is open from December 11 through December 28. Regular registration runs from December 29 through 12PM CT on Friday, March 9. STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority; we refer to the institution, role, and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.

Learning Outcomes

Associate: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Describe and recognize the value of realistic well-defined, achievable, measurable and student-centered learning goals.

  • Describe several known high-impact, evidence-based effective instructional practices and materials and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

  • Describe several assessment techniques and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

Associate: Learning Community

  • Describe and recognize the value of learning communities, and how they impact student learning.

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the scope of diversity in learning environments, of both students and instructor. (*Including but not limited to backgrounds, race, gender, ability, socio-economic status, ethnicity, gender preference, and cognitive skills)

  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.

Associate: Teaching-as-Research

  • Define and recognize the value of the Teaching-as-Research process, and how it can be used for ongoing enhancement of learning.